Thus Far: R48Pro Facts & Trends - The Handball Message Board


View Handball on ESPN3 & the WatchESPN App, by WPHLiveTV Get Started on Our YouTube Channel

The Handball Message Board
Sign up Calendar

  Author   Comment  

Avatar / Picture

Posts: 2,695
Reply with quote  #1 

DF’s Race 4 Eight Fun Facts & Trends Through the R48 7 Montana

The 2017-2018 R48 7 staged its third event of the season in Montana, featuring the largest and loudest R48 galleries in history. Killian Carroll picked up his third R48 title of the season, blitzing the field for the third consecutive event en route to his seventh R48 title.


R48 7 Fun Facts: Atlanta, Tucson, Montana

Sean Lenning is the only player to have lost in the semifinals of all three R48 7 events

Daniel Cordova and David Fink are the only players to have lost in the round of 16, the quarterfinals, and the semifinals of the three R48 7 stops

Luis Cordova is the only player on the R48 to have lost in the quarterfinals of all three R48 7 stops

Marcos Chavez has not won a Playoff match in his last seven R48 starts

[SHORTY-RUIZ-6-300x169]Shorty Ruiz and Abraham Montijo are the only players to have qualified for all three R48 7 stops

Luis Moreno entered a qualifier for the first time in R48 history, defeating Pete Svennungsen 25-23

The only player to defeat Mando Ortiz on the R48 7 is Killian Carroll (finals: Atlanta/Montana, semifinals: Tucson)

Killian Carroll has won 24 of 26 games he has played on the R48 7 (92%)

There have been 24 qualifiers on the R48 7 through Montana, only Robbie McCarthy has advanced to the final (4%)

Four of the six R48 7 finalists are from Ireland (Carroll: 3, McCarthy: 1)

Jonathan Iglesias’ streak of five consecutive qualifier wins was ended at the R48 7 Memorial (Beall)

[MARCOS-CHAVEZ-13-300x169]Marcos Chavez (Atlanta), Peter Funchion (Tucson), Robbie McCarthy (Tucson), and Diarmaid Nash (Montana) are the only qualifiers to have won a round of 16 match on the R48 7 (4 of 24: 17%)

Paul Brady, Andy Nett, and Adam Bernhard, esq. are the only players in the R48 top 21 to not have entered a R48 7 event

Dalton Beall extended his streak of first round Playoff forfeits to seven at the R48 7 Montana (R48 record)

Emmett Peixoto dropped out of the R48 Elite 8 after the R48 7 Tucson for the first time since November of 2012

Sean Lenning and Diarmaid Nash played the longest third game in R48 history (19-17)

Race 4 Eight Fun Facts and Trends: October 2016-present

Killian Carroll has won six of his last seven R48 starts, accumulating a 27-1 record in those seven starts (96%)

Luis Cordova became the first player to defeat two R48 #1’s in the same event (Fink, Moreno) in Salt Lake City ’17

[27073150_10156117450493799_5367175366563028743_n-300x201]The Elite 8 were 44-12 against the qualifiers in the round of 16 in seven R48 6 events (79%). The Elite 8 are 20-4 (83%)  through the first two events of the R48 7 (Atlanta, Tucson, Montana)

Catriona Casey outscored her WR48 opponents 361-95 in three events and 12 matches during the 2016-2017 WR48 season (4:1). This is the second season in which Casey held a 4:1 scoring ratio or better against the field

Paul Brady became the sixth qualifier to reach a R48 final at the R48 6 NYAC and the first qualifier to win an event at the NYAC ‘17

David Fink became the eighth player in R48 history to reach the #1 R48 ranking (Chapman, Lenning, Moreno, Shanks, Brady, Ortiz, Carroll, Fink)

Killian Carroll became just the third player to win back-to-back R48 Men’s Pro titles with wins at the R48 6 New Orleans and Houston (Brady, Moreno)

Mando Ortiz became the first R48 #1 to lose in the round of 16 in a Race stop at the 2017 Houston R48 6

Sean Lenning’s consecutive R48 attendance streak ended at 37, with Lenning missing New Orleans ’17 R48 Stop #38 with a shoulder injury

David Fink and Killian Carroll became the third and fourth players, respectively, to appear in three straight R48 finals (Moreno, Brady)

[27067381_10156117451033799_7584743121533609414_n-300x201]Killian Carroll owned the best winning percentage on the R48 6 (19-2: 90%). Flash is 12-0 on the R48 VII

Paul Brady was the only undefeated player on the R48 6 tour (4-0)

Vic Perez entered the Elite 8 for the first time following New Orleans, making him the longest-tenured R48 star to move into the R48 Elite 8 for the first time (6 years)

Luis Cordova and Jonathan Iglesias played the shortest R48 playoff match in R48 history in New Orleans from the time of the first ball struck (six minutes from the time of the first serve hit)

Luis Moreno became the second 10-time R48 champion with his victory at the Plummer Bash ’17 (Brady: 14)

Four members of the original Elite 8 from the first Race event at the inaugural 2011 Plummer Bash are still in the Elite 8 (Lenning, Moreno, Ortiz, Fink)

Jonathan Iglesias and Vic Perez played one another in consecutive R48 events in Plummer ’17 and New Orleans ‘17, becoming just the second pair to draw one another consecutively in a R48 event (Nett-Fink ’11)

[27540249_10156117450678799_2724888410952530618_n-300x169]Highest ranked R48 pros by country:

Canada: Ryan Bowler (#20 overall)

Ireland: Killian Carroll (#1 overall)

Mexico: Luis Cordova (#6 overall)

United States: Mando Ortiz (#2 overall)

The 2017 Player’s Championship ended with the “C” champions and three “C” #1’s: Killian Carroll, Catriona Casey, and Marcos Chavez (courtesy of DV)

Read much more here:

WPH Youth and Donor Development Director

Previous Topic | Next Topic

Easily create a Forum Website with Website Toolbox.


        Subscribe to our newsletter for a weekly wrap-up sent to your inbox every Tuesday!