DF’s Race 4 Eight Fun Facts & Trends Through the R48 7 Tucson - The Handball Message Board


View Handball on ESPN3 & the WatchESPN App, by WPHLiveTV Get Started on Our YouTube Channel

The Handball Message Board
Sign up Calendar

  Author   Comment  

Avatar / Picture

Posts: 2,635
Reply with quote  #1 

DF’s Race 4 Eight Fun Facts & Trends Through the R48 7 Tucson[image]

The 2017-2018 R48 7 staged its second event of the season in Tucson, featuring more than 300 players from the U.S., Mexico, Canada, and Ireland. Killian Carroll picked up his second R48 title of the season, blitzing the field for the second consecutive event en route to his sixth R48 title.

Martina McMahon clichéd her maiden WR48 title in the first WR48 event of the 2017-2018 WR48 season, overcoming her greatest rival Catriona Casey in a three-game thriller.

Race 4 Eight Fun Facts and Trends: October 2016-present

Killian Carroll has won five of his last six R48 starts, accumulating a 23-1 record in those six starts (96%)

Luis Cordova became the first player to defeat two R48 #1’s in the same event (Fink, Moreno) in Salt Lake City ’17

The Elite 8 were 44-12 against the qualifiers in the round of 16 in seven R48 6 events (79%). The Elite 8 are 13-3 through the first two events of the R48 7 (Atlanta and Tucson)

Catriona Casey outscored her WR48 opponents 361-95 in three events and 12 matches during the 2016-2017 WR48 season (4:1). This is the second season in which Casey held a 4:1 scoring ratio or better against the field

Paul Brady became the sixth qualifier to reach a R48 final at the R48 6 NYAC and the first qualifier to win an event at the NYAC ‘17

David Fink became the eighth player in R48 history to reach the #1 R48 ranking (Chapman, Lenning, Moreno, Shanks, Brady, Ortiz, Carroll, Fink)

Killian Carroll became just the third player to win back-to-back R48 Men’s Pro titles with wins at the R48 6 New Orleans and Houston (Brady, Moreno)

Mando Ortiz became the first R48 #1 to lose in the round of 16 in a Race stop at the 2017 Houston R48 6

Sean Lenning’s consecutive R48 attendance streak ended at 37, with Lenning missing New Orleans ’17 R48 Stop #38 with a shoulder injury

David Fink and Killian Carroll became the third and fourth players, respectively, to appear in three straight R48 finals (Moreno, Brady)

Killian Carroll owned the best winning percentage on the R48 6 (19-2: 90%). Flash is 8-0 on the R48 VII

Paul Brady was the only undefeated player on the R48 6 tour (4-0)

Vic Perez entered the Elite 8 for the first time following New Orleans, making him the longest-tenured R48 star to move into the R48 Elite 8 for the first time (6 years)

Luis Cordova and Jonathan Iglesias played the shortest R48 playoff match in R48 history in New Orleans from the time of the first ball struck (six minutes from the time of the first serve hit)

Luis Moreno became the second 10-time R48 champion with his victory at the Plummer Bash ’17 (Brady: 14)

Four members of the original Elite 8 from the first Race event at the inaugural 2011 Plummer Bash are still in the Elite 8 (Lenning, Moreno, Ortiz, Fink)

Jonathan Iglesias and Vic Perez played one another in consecutive R48 events in Plummer ’17 and New Orleans ‘17, becoming just the second pair to draw one another consecutively in a R48 event (Nett-Fink ’11)

Highest ranked R48 pros by country:

Canada: Ryan Bowler (#20 overall)

Ireland: Killian Carroll (#1 overall)

Mexico: Luis Cordova (#6 overall)

United States: Luis Moreno (#2 overall)

The 2017 Player’s Championship ended with the “C” champions and three “C” #1’s: Killian Carroll, Catriona Casey, and Marcos Chavez (courtesy of DV)

R48 Trends and Facts: 2011-Present

Through 43 events on the Race 4 Eight tour from 2011-2017, the Race 4 Eight has produced sensational tournaments, memorable matches, dominant champions and inspiring stories, all broadcast live on race4eight.com and the WatchESPN App. Read below for fun facts and trends from the first five years on the most exciting indoor pro handball tour in the sport.


1.     In 43 Men’s Race 4 Eight Pro events, there have been eight different champions and 14 different finalists. Of the 14 different finalists, eight have been from the U.S., five from Ireland, and one from Mexico

8 U.S. finalists: Moreno, Ortiz, Nett, Lenning, Alvarado, Al. Garner, Fink, Peixoto

5 Irish finalists: McCarthy, Brady, Nash, Shanks, Carroll

1 Mexican finalist: L. Cordova


2.     The R48 Men’s Pro season 1 featured six different finalists in eight events from the U.S. and Ireland (U.S.: Moreno, Alvarado, Lenning, Al. Garner), Ireland: McCarthy, Shanks). The R48 2 season featured one new finalist (Brady), the R48 3 season featured three new finalists (Ortiz, Peixoto, Nash), The R48 4 featured one new finalist (Nett), the R48 5 featured one new finalist (Carroll), and the R48 6 featured two new finalists (Fink, L. Cordova). There have been no new finalists thus far in the R48 VII


3.     In three Women’s Race 4 Eight starts in 2016, Catriona Casey outscored her nine opponents 342-95 (3.6:1), won all 18 games played, and won all three events. In four U.S. 4-Wall starts in 2016, including the three WR48 starts and the USHA 4-Wall Nationals, Casey outscored her 11 opponents 426-111 (3.8:1), won all 22 games played, and won all four events


4.     Catriona Casey became the last player to start a Race 4 Eight event and not lose. Casey’s seven-tournament WR48 undefeated streak was ended by two-time defending world champion Aisling Reilly in an 11-9 tiebreaker at the 2015 Simple Green U.S. Open


5.     Catriona Casey leads the WR48 with 12 titles in 14 starts. The only other players with a WR48 title are Aisling Reilly (1) and Martina McMahon (1)

Read much more here:  https://wphlive.tv/thus-far-r48pro-facts-trends/

WPH Youth and Donor Development Director

Previous Topic | Next Topic

Easily create a Forum Website with Website Toolbox.


        Subscribe to our newsletter for a weekly wrap-up sent to your inbox every Tuesday!